What is it?

Thanks for the comments and support everyone!  If you don’t have a wordpress blog that automatically links back to your blog please leave the url with your comment.  I like to try and comment on everyone who leaves me a comment and sometimes it’s hard to find you! : )

I peered into the box:  What – is – this?  I hadn’t ordered anything, how very odd.  I peered at the address label, Chrysler Museum of Art?  Virginia?  Suddenly a light came on.  Colleen!  My dear old friend and former roommate Colleen.  Perhaps it was a late Birthday present?  An art poster?  Something related to my curriculum that she spotted?  Yes that must be it.  She probably saw something in the gift store at the museum where she works.

I began to pull bubble wrap out of the thin brown box.  Pop now?  I squeezed one bubble until I heard the satisfying explosion.  No, I’ll save that…I must see what’s in this box.  I pulled it out and held it up dangling by the white string looped through the top.  What the….?

It’s a robot.  It’s a chalkboard.  It’s a chalkboard robot.  I couldn’t help but laugh out loud.  That crazy girl.  Then I noticed the postcard taped to the packaging.

I did need it, I just didn’t know it until now.

Categories: Slice of Life Challenge | Tags: | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “What is it?

  1. What a great friend…she can make you laugh…even from far away:)

  2. That is so fun! And of COURSE you needed a robot chalk board! I’m surprised they don’t come standard with every classroom set up kit, right?

    I don’t normally share my link while writing comments… but since you requested it 🙂

    http://www.mariaselke.com/post/2012/03/03/The-Relativity-Conundrum.aspx

  3. Your kids will love it! What a great friend and how nice she works in such a cool place. Surprises are always fun and intriguing. I loved your thoughts on popping the bubbles now or later. That final line is a perfect closer.

  4. Ha! That note must have cracked you up – old friends know you best!

  5. I also loved how you added that internal dialogue, “Pop now? I squeezed one bubble until I heard the satisfying explosion. No, I’ll save that…I must see what’s in this box.” You couldn’t resist popping just one and how the anticipation of wanting to know what’s in the box won. You made if feel like Christmas and you didn’t know which present to start with! I also loved how you started right in the moment, with peering in th box. I’ve been working to do that.

    I’m totally copying your paragraph at the beginning to have people post their links – brilliant!

  6. The best part of this story- your friend thought of you while away and thought enough of you to send you a gift. What a wonderful memory. By the way… love the demitasse with the slight film of espresso in your heading!

  7. This is so cute! Thanks for sharing:)

  8. Katie,
    Now I feel like I need a chalkboard robot. I’m wondering if they make those in other shapes. I enjoyed your post. I found myself reading quickly to find out what the surprise was that you received from your friend. I think your post would make an excellent mentor text for my young writers about how sometimes you want to save the surprise of your story for the very end and build anticipation.

    Cathy

  9. Isn’t it amazing when a good friend knows you need something before you know it?! What a fun gift, I might have to get one of those for DD’s room and leave her good morning notes for when she wakes up. She’d flip!

    Thank you for sharing.

  10. Excellent gift choice! Of course you needed a chalkboard robot … and now we all know that we need one, too! Chrysler Museum, you say?

  11. Don’t you love friends that really get you and make you laugh?

  12. How fun! I have a girlfriend who sends surprises like that. Thank you so much for sharing. I was with you opening the package…and wanted to keep popping that bubble wrap.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

