Making Lunch

Grasp the tomato firmly in one hand and pull it from the vine.  Hold it to your nose and inhale deeply.  Cut into careful slices, they don’t need to be perfect. Lay them on a plate.

Take a fresh ball of mozzarella, the best kind.  Cut into slices and lay them gently on your tomatoes.  Steal a slice for yourself, give half to the dog because he’s been watching so patiently.  Sprinkle with salt.  Drizzle with balsamic vinegar.

Wash a handful of fresh basil leaves.  Savor the smell left over on your hands.  Bunch them up and slice them then scatter them over your tomatoes and cheese.

Cut a few slices of fresh Tuscan bread.

Pour a glass of day old wine.

Enjoy your day off.

Categories: Slice of Life Challenge | Tags: | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Making Lunch

  1. Yummy! One of my favorite ways to consume massive amounts of tomatoes. Of course the tomato must be hand picked from my yard (can’t do store bought tomatoes). Day old wine? That’s funny!

  2. After a day of feeding my boys toast, saltines and 7up, that looks soooooooooo good!

  3. Wow, now I feel like 5-year old: peanut butter sandwiches, chips, and yogurt for me! Your picture is mouth-watering, and your description clearly shows the care you put into your meal. I think “Hold it to your nose and inhale deeply” is my favorite part!

  4. Oh YUM! Good for you that you enjoyed your day off…wine at lunch is truly a I’m enjoying my day off kind of thing, glad you did!

  5. YUM! I want to eat lunch at your house.

  6. I love the slice of cheese for yourself and a half for the dog who has been waiting patiently! This is such a familiar, natural detail. And the picture is just…yum!

  7. SueB

    Yum! And I just ate dinner!

  8. Wow. That puts my cheeseburger and home-made coleslaw to shame!

  9. Wow! You can make lunch for me anytime!! This looks fabulous and oh-so-yummy!

  10. The description is lovely to read & I love the aside about the dog, but the picture truly is worth a thousand words. Also, I returned & read your poem yesterday (like little slices, I get it) & the post about commenting (so right). Thanks for all & for stopping by my blog too!

  11. Julie Crocker

    THANK YOU! Making lunch these days only brings to mind my most hated chore each evening when I have to rack my brain to come up with yet another lunch that my son might actually eat, then packing it. With Spring Break on my agenda next week, and no traveling this year, I plan on indulging in sleeping in and MAKING THIS LUNCH for myself! Again, thank you.

  12. Yum! You make me wish it was Saturday morning already.

    Cathy

  13. grade4wizard

    This tastes like summer to me.
    Terje

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

