Tritina

I’ve been working on poetry with my class.  Yesterday we tried out Tritinas.  It was a real challenge for some kids but they enjoyed playing with this style.  So, my slice is a Tritina today.  And because my blog is Coffee Fueled Musings the topic is…coffee.

Grasping a warm mug of bold,

dark brew.  Starts the morning, promises to excite.

Fills me up inside and trickles into my mind.

Afternoon, a lull in the day and I can’t get sweet coffee out of my thoughts, my mind.

I’m searching for something to jolt me into bold.

Something recklessly poured over ice, a splash of milk, something to excite.

As I put the straw to my lips it begins to excite

me.  The possibilities of the surge racing through my mind

wanders into my glazed eyes.  Bright, Brighter, Bold.

I begin to believe that the ills of the mind can be excited by a bold brew anytime.

Categories: Slice of Life Challenge | Tags: , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Tritina

  1. I learned something new. Thank you. You’ve supplied us with a great example, and I’m not even a coffee drinker! 🙂

  2. This would be a challenge for me, but it seems to be a piece of cake (or cup of coffee) for you. Why do I feel the urge for a cup of iced coffee?

  3. Afternoon, a lull in the day and I can’t get sweet coffee out of my thoughts, my mind.

    I’m searching for something to jolt me into bold.

    I could have used this! It’s too late for one now (besides, I’ve had quite the day), but definitely tomorrow!

  4. I love this. You made me want to rush over to Starbucks. I can smell the coffee.

  5. Coffee…. I need some right now.

  6. Terrific tritina. I could almost smell the coffee. Your words catered perfectly to the senses of your reader…

  7. I learned about a new form of poetry today. I’m not a coffee drinker, but I definitely got your need for coffee through your words. My favorite line is I’m looking for something to jolt me into bold.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

