I’ve Been Away…

I’ve been away. 

On planes, trains, boats, and cars,

roaming the world.

On the side of a mountain in Greece.

drinking fresh water from the ground

and breathing in

air laced with

freshly picked herbs.

I’ve been away.

Soaking up the sunshine

in the island state.

Inspiring and being inspired.

Dreaming of a life

where I know what to do with a surfboard.

I’ve been away

lost in my own head

and nausea.

Furiously cleaning an unused bedroom

in preparation for out newest

family member.

Will we paint

pink or blue?

I’ve been away

restoring, renewing, reviving.

I’ve been away.

But now I’m back.

Participate in the weekly Slice of Life at Two Writing Teachers.

Visit my blog about Teaching and Learning.

Categories: Uncategorized | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “I’ve Been Away…

  1. Welcome back from lots of exciting adventures. It sounds like you have even MORE excitement to look forward to in the days ahead!

  2. You’ve said it all — beautifully. Congratulations, welcome back, I hope being “here” becomes as wonderful as “away”

  3. Congratulations! It’s great that you are back, too! Have a great year…full of the new!

  4. I hope you are beginning to feel better, but what a change is coming into your life! It is the best thing ever. You’ve been busy and traveled far, how cool to go to Hawaii and work with teachers. I’m glad you are back!

  5. Wonderful to hear all your news. Best wishes for the months to come, & the baby’s arrival. Your travels sound sublime. Nice to put it all into a poem.

  6. You’re back from wishing what you knew what to do with a surfboard (I can relate!) to drinking fresh water from the ground (Sounds fresh!). Pink or blue… wow! So excited to hear about your news. Looking forward to hearing/learning more as the weeks progress.
    Welcome home, Katie!

  7. I’m super excited for you… when the poetry changed, I’ve been away

    lost in my own head

    and nausea. I said in my head, “Welcome to the biggest adventure of your life!” But I hope the ‘yuck’ stuff stops soon. xo

  8. Wonderful news on all fronts!

  9. Pingback: SOLSC: Do You Know What Everyone Has Been Up To Lately? « TWO WRITING TEACHERS

  10. How awesome! Glad you’re back and hope you’re feeling a bit less nauseous soon! Congratulations on expecting! Hoping all goes smoothly-try to enjoy being prego if you can!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

