Goodbye, you were my best friend

I knew as soon as I got home.

It was time for you to go.

No perk in your ears, no wag in your tail.

 

This room is where dogs die.

I closed your eyes as you went to sleep

forever.

I could not believe you were gone.

Petting your silken ears one last time.

 

Midnight, I stand staring at your chair.

The soundtrack of my life has gone quiet.

I ate breakfast alone for the first time in seven years.

Your pillow sits empty, you never liked it anyway.

Dog hair covers my pants, as if you were still here.

 

I hope you are somewhere wonderful.

Running across the beach in search of your Kong.

Ears flapping in the wind.

Rolling in the dewy morning grass.

You are young again, you have your long tail again.

Being loved by all that have gone before us.

 

Until we meet again.

Goodbye, you were my best friend.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Goodbye, you were my best friend

  1. You are so full of peace in your goodbye for now poem. I sit in my bed and hear the rhythmic breathing of my four-legged friend , and I am so sad for your loss. May the memories and images of your best friend help you to always bookend your tears with smiles.

  2. I’m so sorry I missed this earlier in the week. My heart breaks, I know exactly what you are going through. You wrote a beautiful poem.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

