Day 7: The Brackets

Photo Mar 06, 2 04 08 PM

We’ve decided to do brackets.  I barely even know what a bracket is or how it works, but I gained a new respect for the drama that they bring to Basketball in March.  Once my students gathered their choices and voted I was tasked with the challenge of matching books up and putting together the bracket.  It was heart-wrenching.  Sure, there were a few books on there I felt lukewarm about.  But most of them…well most of them are much loved favorites.

I arranged and rearranged the books over and over.  I tried to match up books that were book club books, whole class read aloud, and independent reading books.  But this gave me sad pairings.  The one and only Ivan vs. Because of Mr. Terupt!  I wrung my hands and fretted over the brackets again.  No matter the outcome I will feel a sad little wrench in my heart.  Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library vs. Walk Two Moons?  UGH!  It’s all in good fun of course.

This month will bring some drama and a little good-natured competition between books, in the end we will crown a champion.  But the real champions are my students.  Students who have the richness of reading lives to nominate such wonderful, wonderful titles to compete.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 7: The Brackets

  1. Hey there,
    The ACC tournament is held in my town Greensboro, NC. I have never played a basketball bracket….I would consider a book bracket. I love that your student’s are inspired by this idea. Thanks for making reading exciting….you know you could bribe someone to pick a bracket!! Just kidding, maybe!
    Sarah

    • Sarah my class is so competitive I can already see some recess time persuasion happening!

  2. Oh, that looks like fun, Katie – the books look well matched, too – and such fabulous choices!

  3. This looks like such a great way to get kids involved in books that they connect with! Love this!!!!

  4. Jaana

    This sounds fun!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

