Day 9: Oreos

I dip and wait the exact right amount of time

(eyes intent, stomach grumbling)

to just soften the cookie casing

not too hard, not to mushy.

One must not wait too long or risk losing a chunk

like an iceberg lost in a sea of milk.

I bite gently

savoring the flavor

as it explodes

in my mouth.

I always eat Oreos in halves.

Sometimes like this, together and dunked in milk.

Other times I carefully twist

eat one dry cookie

then savor the other

covered in dreamy frosting.

Wash it down with a swig

of thick cold milk.

I sneak back to the package.

gently peel back the top

extract a cookie from the middle.

Shake it a bit to disguise

the empty spot

and repeat my ritual.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Day 9: Oreos

  1. Yum! I love how you ritualistically savor your Oreos.

  2. Mmmm. There’s no wrong way to eat an Oreo, Katie! The way you’ve chosen to write about it is stunning.

    I know you’re using this as a mentor for your students, but I was hoping to use this as one of the “be inspired” pieces on my daily SOL posts. If that’d be okay with you, then please email me at stacey{at}staceyshubitz{dot}com. Additionally, would you be kind enough to share specific links to your students’ writing (i.e., the ones who adopt this piece as a mentor).?

  3. Lisa

    I think that’s a great mentor text! I really do think the ones we create ourselves are the most powerful. You’ve used great descriptive language.

  4. Verb choices help me visualize each step of the Oreo eating process!

  5. Now you’ve got me wanting an Oreo. I hope you are bringing Oreos to class. After reading this they will all be drooling.

  6. If I wasn’t craving an midnight snack before, I certainly am now! It’s probably a good thing that we’ve no junk food in the house right now!

    Nicely done.

  7. I wrote about eating Oreos either last year or the year before during SOLC. Your post reminded me of it – and made me smile.

  8. Pingback: Day 19 of the March SOLSC! #sol14 | TWO WRITING TEACHERS

  9. Okay, like the other commenters, now I want an Oreo! I love these lines:

    One must not wait too long or risk losing a chunk

    like an iceberg lost in a sea of milk.

  10. mmmmm I don’t even like oreos but through your writing you have made me crave one!

  11. Pingback: Big Words | Reflections on the Teche

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

