Day 16: Long, Long, Long Day

Reasons why my kid is crying today.

I didn’t let her climb on the couch.

I let her climb on the couch but had my hand near her.

I took her off the coffee table when she climbed on it.

I stopped pouring water out of a cup when she took her bath.

I didn’t feed her fast enough.

I gave her too much food.

I put on her new shoes to show to Nana.

I took off her new shoes.

I gave her a cracker.

I didn’t leave the cracker on the floor where she ground it into the carpet.

I looked at her.

Is it bed time yet?

Categories: Uncategorized | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Day 16: Long, Long, Long Day

  1. I can relate! Isabelle never napped today and we had lots of three year-old drama!

    Hope she sleeps well for you tonight so you can put your feet up for a bit. Sounds like you need it.

  2. gillis

    Oh…I commiserate. My “baby” is approaching the age of 5 so he is no baby but he is a determined and persistent fella with many needs – which makes for many long days. I enjoyed the format of your post and think its sparseness gave it power. It didn’t feel lame to me at all…

  3. My babies are all in their 20s and 30s now. I know it’s hard to believe, but you will miss these days. Just take a breath and a little time for you!

  4. Aw, poor things! You and baby! Some days are longer than others, but thankfully, we tend to remember the long, great days instead of the long, bad ones. Take care!

  5. I love the structure of your piece. Love the last line too- what parent hasn’t hoped for that. Hopefully tomorrow is a better day.

  6. No, no Katie — this is not lame at all. It’s beautiful. I agree with Gillis — I loved its sparseness. It did make the piece. I loved, also, the contrasts between each set of correlated ‘incidents.’ At our house, with a 16-mo old and 4.5 year old…weekend days can be long too. And, yes, before DST came and worked us over, I would have my kiddos both in bed by 7 on Sunday nights. Hope you find some peaceful hours to enjoy yourself before starting the school week. Enjoy!
    b

  7. I hope you both enjoy a good night’s sleep! Slicing is a great way to vent frustration – many of us have been there. Hang in there!!

  8. Ah, some days we never win. Luckily, tomorrow is a new day!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

