Day 18: A new perspective on an old book.

I’m listening to my student teacher read Walk Two Moons today.  We are getting close to the end, close to the part I dread, which is when Gram dies.  I’ve been dreading this moment.  But I did not expect to get so emotional today.  I had forgotten the part where the mother in the story loses her baby.  Of course, I knew this happened, but for some reason I always linger on Gram not the baby.  Today I’m lingering on the baby.

The class gasps as she reads, saddened at this loss.  My heart aches and I realize, that I know Sal’s mom better than I ever have.  I can imagine the pain and wild thoughts she must have had.  The blame.  Her deep need to get away.  Now that I am a mother I can connect with these characters in a way I never have before.

We build our humanity through reading and what we bring to it.  Our sum total of life experiences colors how we experience a text.  That is what real readers do.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 18: A new perspective on an old book.

  1. This makes me want to go back and reread this!

  2. This was one of my favorite books in elementary school. I need to reread it!

  3. Reading books at different stages of life gives a new perspective on the message we take away. I’ve been thinking about rereading this book too. Thanks for the nudge.

  4. “We build our humanity through reading and what we bring to it. Our sum total of life experiences colors how we experience a text. That is what real readers do.”
    That’s it, right? Why we do anything to build in reading time for our kids, and to finding books that will move their souls.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

