Day 4: A Mother’s Work Day Never Ends

The call comes at 12:45am-crying, moaning, wailing.  I lay in bed for a few minutes to see if she will calm down as she often does.  But tonight it continues, she needs her mama.  She needs me.

The minute I walk in her bedroom illuminated by the soft glow of moonlight she springs to her feet, arms outstretched from the crib.  I wrap her up in my arms, no easy task. She’s getting so big.

We snuggle into the chair.  Become one person cuddled there together, the wailing begins again.  How many nights have we spent in this chair together?  I play soft music on my phone and she slowly calms.

It’s been a long time since she’s need to be rocked in the middle of the night, I enjoy it in the moment.  Thinking of a time when she will be bigger and no longer crave the arms of her mama around her.  It goes so fast.

Eventually her eyes become heavy and her head rests against me.  I rise slowly, tuck her into her bed.  One blanket, one bear, one baby, two lovies.  Sweet dreams little one, I’m always here for you.  Forever and ever.

Categories: Slice of Life Challenge | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Day 4: A Mother’s Work Day Never Ends

  1. Love this! You had me right back there, and it’s really been about a million years. It’s so easy to dread those tears in the middle of the night as a working teacher, but how great that you chose the opposite road. Everyone will tell you it happens in the blink of an eye, and I’m here to tell you–it is the absolute truth!

  2. This is so precious and a reminder of how our babies need us and we Gould treasure those moments. Thank you for sharing this today!
    -Dana

  3. What a lovely moment to capture forever and treasure. I’m on the older end of this… my boys still need me but the snuggling days are mostly over.

  4. Yes. I love these moments too. Brought me back. (Sigh.)

  5. Sweetness in every word of this. Love the feel of two bodies becoming one.

  6. How wonderful that you chose to cherish those moments when it would be so easy to become resentful and cranky. The sweetness of this makes me want to cry just a wee bit.

  7. Just smiling and loving the truth in this.

  8. raeily

    Beautiful. We sometimes dread those midnight wakings, but if we just sit in the moment they can be beautiful.

    You’re a wonderful mother.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

