I’m Sorry About the Toddler

IMG_9900.PNG

Dear Baby,

I’m sorry about the toddler.  I know she is loud and bossy, emotional and forceful.  She can shine her love like the first rays of sunshine after a long cold winter and shut it off just as quickly again.  She’s unpredictable and wild, sassy and sweet all at the same time.

She argues with me.  She likes to think of you as her baby.  She has bathed you, tried to help change you, frequently considers picking you up and carrying you around.  (Although with your meaty baby thighs you’re quiet a load to love these days.)  She tells me what you think and want, which just happens to coincide with what she thinks and she wants.  She is your BIG sister and I suspect she will never let you forget it.  (She’s a Dragon what can I do? You’re a goat, I don’t think you’ll mind.)

But despite whatever happens in the future.  Whatever sisterly spats you have over toys, then clothes, following rules, boys, friends… I want you to know.  Each morning when she sees you her face lights up, she squeals your name, she barks the commands.

I want to see her.

I want to snuggle her.

I want to kiss her.

So I’m sorry about the toddler. They are unpredictable creatures.  But so far you don’t seem to mind too much.  Because as the antics continue on a daily basis you watch the family circus with a mixture of wonder and amusement.  And your eyes are locked on her every moment waiting for a burst of love to come your way.  You are my gift to her, and she is my gift to you.  Sisters.

Categories: Slice of Life Challenge | Tags: , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “I’m Sorry About the Toddler

  1. So sweet. Love the photo, too. Do save this for them; when they’re teens, they’ll need reminding!

  2. My boys are now 14 and 16 …. it is a gift. You inspired to go find a photo I love of them from this stage of life. I might just slice about it. Thank you for bringing back a special memory for me.
    Clare

  3. Love baby’s expression in that photo! What a joy to watch the ties of sisterhood weave the girls together. I understand those meaty thighs, love that phrase. So many sentences, phrases, words to love in this piece!

  4. Katie Diez

    Perfection. I immediately thought of my own toddler, who has begun to call her baby brother “my baby” or “my brother”. She must get so close to his face at all times…and so unpredictable! someday I will look back and realize how adorable it is….for now all I can do is freak out about every little thing that could go wrong with her loving….
    Thank you for sharing!

  5. Okay, did I write this post? No I didn’t, but change the she to he and yes, exactly. This is our lives. Love love love.

  6. Ana

    This sure is a great post! I often think of what it would be like to have a baby again with a 2 year old. I’m not sure I am ready for all of the unpredictably… however I guess baby number 2 doesn’t know any different??!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

