Day 3: Slushy, Mushy, Dirty, Gross

The streets are filled with the muck of winter, thick piles of slushy filth mixed with oil and pollution.  I step gingerly over frozen mounds of slushy snow hoping with each tentative step that I won’t slip and fall in to the abyss of winter filth.  Oh how I yearn for a heavy rain to wash it all away and clean the world.  Make it fresh and new, the smell of spring in the air, that first bud on a tree.  Oh how I yearn for the days when I have to gun my car over a frozen snow bank just to launch it into a parking spot.

I step tentatively from the car, moving quickly on my toes, lifting my pants up so as not to dirty them.  I fly across the slushy mushy street before a passing car can spray me, watching each step carefully.  Why must it be so….oppressive?  For now the light burning from the coffee shop window is my only sunshine.  My latte my only breath of something fresh.  I can’t wait for these slushy, mushy, dirty, gross days to be over.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Day 3: Slushy, Mushy, Dirty, Gross

  1. I’m with you, especially since we are getting another six inches tomorrow. Winter has worn out its welcome.

  2. Sigh. It snowed this afternoon and it’s sleeting now. I am yearning for Spring, too.

  3. mrssurridge

    Oh my. You brought back such draining memories. I used to live in northern Montana and it was hard to make it to the car with clean pants and dry socks. When I saw your title I knew exactly what your post would be. The second I could I packed my bags and moved to southern California. But the memories come slushing back…I hope you were able to enjoy that latte–it sounds like you deserved it!

  4. Yuck. I’m done with it all too.

  5. Oh, I am with you! And, as one who once fell into and abyss of winter filth (love that), you are so right to avoid that fate at all costs!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.