Day 10: 30 steps to my morning

Routines, routines.  They guide our life.  Sometimes I don’t even notice the routines in my day.  Today I wrote a list about my morning routine.

30 Steps to my Morning

  1. Alarm goes off.
  2. Snooze.
  3. Alarm goes off.
  4. Snooze.
  5. Alarm goes off.
  6. Snooze.
  7. Get dressed.
  8. Wake up toddler.
  9. Get toddler dressed.
  10. Argue with toddler about getting dressed.
  11. Attempt to get toddler dressed.
  12. Bribe toddler.
  13. Attempt to get toddler dressed.
  14. Fight toddler in epic battle.
  15. Take toddler to daycare.
  16. Drive to work.
  17. Stop at starbucks.
  18. Order largest coffee they make.
  19. Get to work.
  20. Trudge up stairs.
  21. Realize I forgot my key.
  22. Trudge downstairs saying bad words.
  23. Trudge back upstairs more slowly.
  24. Dump stuff in chair.
  25. Check email.
  26. Gaze at giant pile of papers to grade.
  27. Get distracted by interesting article I want to share with class.
  28. Bell rings.
  29. Get kids.
  30. Day begins.
Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Day 10: 30 steps to my morning

  1. It’s tiring just to read your 30 steps! Luckily, we have found we can avoid the epic battle in dressing our toddler if she gets to pick out her own clothes. She has interesting outfits some days but it’s better than the battle. Of course, that didn’t work with our next oldest. There was no way around the battle. Sigh.

  2. Terje

    You made me laugh. I understand that an alarm can be annoying and getting a toddler dressed can be a battle, but your twist on the whole thing is really humorous.

  3. An epic battle? Love the flow of this and I can picture every bit.

  4. Alright, I have to confess needing to laugh at said epic battles with toddler…having lived through them (times three) I remember those days well, and not fondly. Somehow, we survive with our love intact. Somehow.

  5. I am impressed- I could not have been a classroom teacher with toddlers.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.